Staples, Yang, and Telgemeier Win at Eisners

by AJ Adejare

This years Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards was held at San Diego Comic-Con on Friday July 10th.  Every year the competition for the awards gets more aggressive and in it we get some of the best work of the comic book industry.

Raina Telgemeier won for her work for Sisters in the Best Writer/Artist category.  Sisters is her sequel memoir for Smiler about her time growing up with her younger sister.  Lumberjanes completed a brace, getting both Best Publication for Teens as well as Best New Series.  Fiona Staples also had a brace in her work for Saga winning Best Penciller/Inker personally as well as Best Continuing Series for Saga. The award for Best Writer went to Gene Luen Yang.  Yang worked on the Avatar: The Last Airbender series for Dark Horse as well as the The Shadow Hero for First Second.

To get more info on who won the awards, you can check out Blog Critics list of winners.

Via Blogcritics


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s